San Diego Golf Courses

Site of the 2008 and 2021 U.S. Open Championships

Only one retreat can be this close to a world-famous botanical reserve, and just steps from the legendary championship San Diego golf course known to all as Torrey Pines. Located along the 18th fairway, The Lodge at Torrey Pines blends sensitively with the landscape through its use of natural materials and graceful, sheltering forms. Hotel guests can take advantage of a guaranteed tee time program exclusive to The Lodge at Torrey Pines.

  1. The Courses

  2. Tournaments

  3. Farmers Invitational

The Courses

Golf Courses


As guest of The Lodge at Torrey Pines, our San Diego Golf Services Department can arrange for tournament groups of 16 to 144. Our Professional staff will take care of all your needs from food and beverage to score keeping. For smaller groups, The Lodge offers individual play packages that may be reserved up to 24 months in advance.

Farmers Invitational

About the Farmers Insurance Open
The PGA Tour Farmers Insurance Open is the tour's stop in San Diego, Calif. The event has been played in San Diego since 1952. From 1989 through 2009, it was known as the Buick Invitational. Before Farmers Insurance came on board as sponsor, it temporarily reverted to being called the San Diego Open.

2012 Farmers Insurance Open
• When: Jan. 23-29
• Where: Torrey Pines Golf Course, San Diego, Calif.

2010 Tournament
Ben Crane parred the final hole to hold on to a 1-stroke victory, his first PGA Tour win in five years.

Official Tournament Web site
PGA Tour tournament site

Farmers Insurance Open Records:
• Overall: 266 - George Burns, 1987, and Tiger Woods, 1999
• Tournament course record: Torrey Pines North Course - 61, Mark Brooks, 1990, and Brandt Snedeker, 2007;
  Torrey Pines South Course - 62, Tiger Woods, 1999

Farmers Insurance Open Golf Courses:
Torrey Pines Golf Course, a 36-hole municipal facility north of San Diego in the suburb of La Jolla, is the host facility for the PGA Tour Farmers Insurance Open. Torrey Pines has hosted the tournament every year since 1968, with rounds split between its North Course and South Course (the South Course always hosts the final round).

Photo gallery: Torrey Pines pictures